BEAST/Batoost ‘Good Luck’ Reaction & Review

beast-good-luck-fb-cover-update

Yes, yes, I know that I reviewed Batoost last time too, but ‘Good Luck’ is the actual title track of their album, so I’m kind of obliged to review this song too (and because I have a B2UTY friend who told me I HAD to watch it :P).

I’ve actually started to warm up even more to BEAST since the last review. Their song ‘Shadow’ has been stuck in my head a lot nowadays and I’m starting to appreciate their vocals a bit more.

So let’s see what the boys have in store now with their track ‘Good Luck!’

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hs8QGv2VqJA

REACTION

why you take her shoe off?

IS SHE DEAD? wait nvm….

2047?—-hm….

ahhh nice string sound

WHOA SLOW DOWN

praying junhyung? XD

chinese dress?-

just watching you from the piano lols

nice start yoseob~

OH ELECTRONIC VIBE

WHOAAAAA

digging the beat!

growl ish dancing?-

triplets nice

power dancing

WHOA WHAT

get rid of the headband hyunseung….

AH JUNYUNGS’ RAPPPPPP

chilling and rapping at dinner lol

their english is actually ok

those falsetto notes

catchy chorus~

checkerboard floor

money?

betrayal?

OH NO

WHY YOU STAB HIM

HE’S MADE OUT OF MONEY?!?!

WHAT

WHY YOU STAB HIM

darn thought that was a key change….

attitude dancing

WHOOOOO

REVIEW

…wow. Okay, before I start fangirl slobbering everywhere, let me try to take this one at a time.

MUSIC

The song itself was absolutely amazing. I really loved the way it sounded layered by all the electronic sounds and it had this constant pulse that was throbbing throughout the entire song. Yoseob starting the song was an ingenious idea. I was kind of hesitant because I had the impression that he had a voice more suited for honey vocals, but he proved me wrong here. It was an interesting sound; it was still sweet but had a bit more attitude? Not exactly power, but more…confidence? Or maybe it’s better to call it oomph? I don’t know what it was but whatever element it was it worked really well with his already velvety voice.

MUSIC VIDEO

If you didn’t already get it from the WHOA WHAT moments in the reaction, there were some parts that were kind of like…sexy/risqué. (…awks…)

BESIDES THAT I think the quality of the MV was well done, kudos to Cube. And the dance, though no move in particular stuck out to me, suited the high energy of the song really well. It wasn’t distracting or weird, it complimented the song perfectly.

I’m pretty sure that the scene with Junhyung was supposed to be a nod to the Biblical story of the Last Supper. I mean, he was sitting in the centre surrounded by lots of people (in this case, all women) behind a table with loads of food. And the thing when the bag of coins was passed around hinting to how Judas Iscariot betrayed Jesus? But in this case, instead of being crucified, Junhyung was stabbed with uh…a butter knife. (Come on, Cube! At least make it a wee bit more believable?-)

CONCLUSION

This song is making me like Batoost more and more. Actually, as I’m typing this post, I’m listening to their mini album and I’m liking it a LOT. The sound overall is well polished and well put together. And the vocals are suiting the songs really well~

So a great big round of applause, BEAST, and welcome back!

Leave a Reply

