BOYFRIEND “Obsession” Reaction & Review

346529

/sidenote: All the songs I’ve reviewed have been by groups that start with the letter ‘b’…

I personally don’t know much about Boyfriend except that they won the EatYourKimchi aegyo award and that they were in a ‘Open the Happy’ video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SfZesnDO5M

But we’re not here to talk about Simon and Martina, so onward to the MV!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWUGHlefpYk

REACTION

hexagons

brass?

evil scientist?

nice swing feel with darker tones

church organs?

BOOKS EVERYWHERE

the random arm motions tho

old school kpop sound

gangsters?

reading peter pan

spinninggggg

book clubs ehehehe

DYNAMITE?

nice rap

WHY YOU STAB THE BOOK

video game sound?-

ahhh nice rapping voice

gonna blow this popsicle  stand literally lol

WENDY?!?!

omg she’s real

wait was she stuck in that book room

i’d love to be there 😀

WHY YOU GONNA KILL HER?!?!?!?!

EVIL PERSON

BETRAYER

SOME ONE EXPLAIN JE NE COMPREND PAS

so he’s gonna threaten?

OH NOW SHE DIED

EXPLOSION

WHAT

IM SO LOST

CAPTAIN HOOK?

HE’S CAPTION FREAKING HOOOK?

AND NOW YOU CLOSE THE BOOK

WHAT

REVIEW

MUSIC VIDEO

Okay, that was the really confusing!- I think that it was supposed to refer to Peter Pan, but it wasn’t 100% clear how it did for me except when she was reading the book and at the very end when they lifted the hook similar to Captain Hook’s.

And I still don’t get why the girl died? And why did it have to be dynamite? Cause he was acting like he cared for her when he hugged her, but then was choking her and then blew her up. And did all those guys like her? (typical kpop mv storyline, all the members liking one person…)

Besides the storyline, it was okay, I suppose. I wasn’t really mind blown by the storyline, but I have to say that I really liked the hexagon book room thing. I’d love to visit it myself and spend some time in there reading with a cup of lemonade~

And I found that the grungyness reminded me of Got7’s ‘Girls Girls Girls’ MV. Even the colours were similar, earthy colours. Ah, well…

MUSIC

I liked the touch of using the brass. It added a nice touch to the song, making it a bit more…serious? Heavy? And I was impressed by the rap. His voice is refreshing in that it’s not low and he enunciates really well.

It was also nice how the song kind of sounded like old school kpop, in the way that it doesn’t sound like any other song nowadays and has a more basic beat. The rhythm swings and makes it easy to dance to, which is a nice aspect of the song.

CONCLUSION

My friend Vince suggested me to review this song and at first I was a bit hesitant, but now I’m glad that I did. I’m pleasantly surprised by the rapping of Boyfriend and I’ll keep them on my radar a bit more now that I’ve listened to one of their songs~

And by all means, if you would like me to review a song or just want to share some interesting music, Korean or not, please do in the comments! I’m open to discovering new groups and sounds 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “BOYFRIEND “Obsession” Reaction & Review”

Leave a Reply

