Infinite “Back” Reaction and Review

 

Infinite Back

So actually, while I was in Korea, I wasn’t keeping track of what was happening in the Hallyu world that much. I mean, I was IN KOREA so it was enough for me~ But as we were waiting in Incheon International Airport for our flight, I decided to check the allkpop page just to see if anything interesting happened. And to my delight,

INFINITE HAD A NEW SONG :DDD. Infinite is one of my favourite groups, hands down. I mean, I bought their entire last album ‘Season 2’ and that’s saying a lot. They always deliver solid songs and they have really sharp dances and a signature sound. And Sungkyu’s voice is my favourite male voice (okay, maybe it’s tied with Daesung…) and Dongwoo’s rap is always enjoyable.

In other words…I was pretty excited.

So here it goes, “Back” by Infinite!~

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiiqHq_kNnU

REACTION

19 rating?

Gangster?

SAVE HER

Don’t cry

Ahhh his voice is too much

TATTOOS?

WIN WIN WIN YOU GUISE HAVE TO WINNNNN

Nice voice hoya

Sungyeol is a mean scary guy?

Red and black everywhere

Crashing

SAVE HER STOP ASKING IT

Is this a ballad or will it pick up?

YES YOU CAN

Ah there we go,

I was waiting for that

Of course infinite can save them

Don’t hurt them :$

The strings tho

I like how they’re not saving their gf or something, its like a younger girl?-

DON’T HURT SUNGJONG

Ah chaser-like colors

Noo blood no L

Sharp dancing as per usual

YEAH GO SUNGYKU!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO NOT SUNGYKU

NOOOOOOOOO

THIS IS TOO PAINFUL

Is she their sister or something?

CALL AN AMBLUANCE HE’S HURT DDD:

STAPH

STHAP

WHAT DID THEY DO WRONG TO YOU

NO HAPPY ENDING

WHY

L?

YOU OKAY MAN?

WHO WON THO?

SAVE HER!!!!!!

GO GO GO GOGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

And black?!?!?!?

REVIEW

Okay, I just watched it again and

AWLEFJAELW;IFJAELW;IJF

WOOLLIM WHY DO YOU WANT TO HURT INSPIRITS (FANS) LIKE THIS. WATCHING THEM GET BEAT UP AND BLOOD EVERYWHERE AND PAIN AND-

-well, at least it was really well done. And Woollim did say that none of the members got hurt so at least we can rest assured about that~ But it was still painful to see them getting beat up that badly…

Ahem. Moving on to the song itself~

MUSIC

The beginning is beautiful, with the “Can you save me?” and Sungkyu’s vulnerable voice floating over the piano. The addition of the guitar as the singing gets more intense and leads to the chorus is brilliant. And the progression into the signature Infinite sound in the chorus was excellently made. It’s actually surprising how they managed to pull off a segue from pure acoustics to synth/electronics. And then the segue back to the smooth strings and guitar mood and then back to the synth sounds! Wow. But then again, it’s Infinite. And whoa, they actually used crash sounds in the audio too!-

For the singing, I was very impressed. For one, there isn’t any rapping (SEE CHRIS NOT EVERY KPOP SONG HAS RAPPING…though a good portion of it does), which meant that Dongwoo and Hoya sang. And did they sing!- I was most surprised by Dongwoo because wow, he hit those high notes well.(Note: Dongwoo is the low voice rapper of the group) I shouldn’t be as surprised since he did hit the high note in Memories from Season 2, but he seemed even more confident with the high notes this time, so wow an improvement in such a short amount of time?- And Hoya’s voice as well was a lot more confident.

Besides the rappers, of course Sungkyu’s voice was great, and this song showed his ability to be vulnerable really well. And is it just me, but did L get more lines this time? His voice seems to have improved too and carries well over the instruments.

MUSIC VIDEO

At first, I was worried that it was rated for 19 and up. Because usually, that means that the video will include sex or something close to it. But this time, it was rated that for the same reason that VIXX’s ‘Voodoo Doll’ was given the rating (though thank goodness Infinite’s MV isn’t as gory…)

One thing I immediately like is that it seems like they’re saving their little sister or someone like that. Since L and Sungkyu were both with her and they were teasing her. Or maybe it’s just a really young girlfriend?- O.o I took it more like she was like the girl from their variety show You are My Oppa, where they had a younger girl to take care of like a dongsaeng (younger sibling).

About the blood and beating up…well, I think I freaked out over it enough in the review XD. THE FEELS MAN. It’s not fun seeing your favourite singers getting beat up :(. In that sense, it kind of reminded me of BAP’s “Badman” music video, though in that one I don’t remember anyone from BAP actually getting bloody…And I also liked how they used colors from their Chaser era (the dark slate blue outfits).

And one last thing about the MV…Sungjong’s weapon though XD. If you didn’t notice, it’s an umbrella. They must have been like, “Give the maknae the umbrella!” I didn’t notice either until I saw this comic:

Screenshot 2014-07-23 21.53.57 (creds to Funny Kpop Stalker on tumblr~)

CONCLUSION

Let’s just say that I’ve been listening to this song on repeat for a while now~. Okay, actually though.

I was surprised at the concept Infinite took. When I saw them walking up all like gangsters I actually face palmed. If they were going to take the hip hop WE GOT SWAG YO method, I was 100% done. Thank goodness they didn’t! I wouldn’t have seen them taking this concept, but I guess it fits them. They’ve been around for 4 years now, so it’s nice that they’re taking the idea of a mature song in this direction.

The sound is up to par to every other well made Infinite song, and if anything, pushes the boundaries a bit more with the smooth segue between acoustic and synth sounds. And the vocals of everyone, especially the rappers, have improved a lot. In my eyes, when you can get your rappers to sing that confidently and even hit high notes, that’s when you have a well established group. And that’s what Infinite is. Bravo Infinite, for delivering another solid song!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Infinite “Back” Reaction and Review”

Leave a Reply

