More than a Black Shirt

So I was waiting for the bus to go to orchestra rehearsal. It was cold and raining and I was focusing more on how to hold my umbrella and keep both my violin case and my purse dry.

And then I saw out of the corner of my eye something vaguely familiar.

A girl was wearing a black shirt with a symbol on it. But it wasn’t any symbol. It was a symbol that only people in the Kpop world would understand:

bts___logo_by_supermeshh-d6nddpr

And no, BTS does not stand for ‘Behind The Scenes’. It stands for 방탄소년단, aka Bangtan Boys, a hip-hop group.

WHOA WHOA WHOA.

THERE WERE KPOP FANS (WHO WEREN’T KOREAN) IN IOWA TOO? XD That was definitely a first for me.

So, being the suave person I am, I walked up to her and said “I like your shirt” and then lost my cool and (almost) squealed, “So do you know Bangtan?!” To which she said, “Yeah!” then turned back to her conversation.

BUT THE BEST PART IS THAT THE GIRL WHO WAS STANDING NEXT TO ME ALSO CAME UP AND COMPLIMENTED THE GIRL ON HER SHIRT.

She must have been wanting to say something as well, so maybe I initiated it ahahaha~ But the other girl was super shy when she said she liked the shirt too XD.

I’m kind of wishing that I asked her who her bias was or something, just to see if she’d start fangirling on the spot like my Montreal friends would. But then the bus came, and it ended. But hey, it’s nice to know that even Iowa City has some international fans like Montreal does~

Leave a Reply

