Something Beautiful

It’s something as simple as the sparkle in someone’s eye when they pick up an instrument. Or when a professor gets giddy about a scientific topic. Or a brilliant smile glued on someone’s face when they run after a ball.

Passion. It’s something I want, something I earnestly long for. I see it around me even more often now, in fellow students finally getting a chance to pursue where their interests take them and in professors who have followed their passion for years and still get thrills about their major.

Seeing such infectious energy makes me wonder if I ever had something like that in my life. The closest thing I can compare that to is playing violin, but I think that’s simply because I’ve played it the longest. I do still love playing it, but I don’t think it’s to the same degree as someone who is magnetically drawn to something and invests hours in it simply because.

Maybe it’s because I’m too much of a jack of all trades. My dad used to say the phrase “jack of all trades, master of none.” What a scary thought.

I just want to find something that’ll keep me up all night. Something that’ll make hours slip by unnoticed. I know that I’ll have to work hard to get to the point where I can master it, but I’m pretty sure that once I find that something, work will be secondary to the joy that’ll come from learning more about it.

Wow, listen to my words; I sound like someone longing after some true love, except this time, it’s not a person, it’s a concept. It’s passion; it’s beautiful and I’m desperately craving it in my life.

Leave a Reply

