Save Piglet or Eat Bacon?

I was walking to pick up my violin but then I was stopped by a man wearing a ‘VEGAN’ shirt who handed me this pamphlet:

IMG_4602

Already, I knew that I didn’t want to read it because it would mean that I would feel guilty about the bacon and boiled egg that I just ate for breakfast. And sure enough, the second page already featured some bloody pictures of mutilated animals. …I didn’t read any further.

Yes, I do know that there are bad practices with the meat industry. But at the same time, I believe that all the animals are here for us. God created the animals for us, not the other way around. I understand that we do need to take care of them and whatnot, but still, uh, we still like meat, you know?

A part of the pamphlet was saying “Animals don’t want to see their family and friends killed. Would you want that too?” Of course not, but um I’m human and they’re not.

I don’t know if I should feel guilty for eating meat. Instinctively I would say that I’m not. But after seeing some gruesome pictures it’s easy enough to see why people would become vegetarian.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I don’t know what the ‘right’ answer to the question of vegetarianism is. All because I eat meat does that make me immediately care less about animals? Is ignorance bliss in this situation? Am I guilty for propagating the meat industry? Should everyone go vegetarian to better care for the animals? Or should we perhaps get to the core of the problem and make stricter laws about the meat industry? If it was like that, would there be less vegetarians (since most become vegetarian out of compassion to the animals)?

Well, I don’t really know any answers to my questions. But at this point, I think I like meat a bit too much to give it up…

Leave a Reply

