Life is Like Drinking Tea…

It’s almost 12:30am and I still have my rhetoric draft ahead of me, waiting to be finished. But before I started, I had to get tea because, tea’s that amazing. So I went to get my tea. My roommate was already asleep, so I had to sneak in and grab my bag of 현미녹차 (brown rice green tea) and boil my water.

But see, getting my tea ready wasn’t even the hardest part of this process.

It was deciding when was the appropriate time to drink. As in, when can I drink my tea without burning my tongue.

It’s almost like an art, no? Or, I guess, a science of itself. Which, you could tie in with calorimetry and thermochemistry (which I happen to be studying now…) to calculate the time, but who does that while they’re drinking tea.

Honestly, I find deciding when to drink my tea very stressful. Too many times I’ve burned my tongue because I was too anxious for my tea. So I’ve become scared of it, and even now was considering just drinking tea with a spoon (I know, I know…sacrilege!).

But you know what, I’m going to do it. I’m going to drink my tea and look the soothing drink in the eye and say “YOU’RE NOT THE BOSS OF ME! I’M IN CHARGE. I WILL DRINK YOU!”

And hey, what do you know, you can also tie this concept in to life itself. We get burned too many times and get scared of drinking ‘the tea of life’ because of past experiences. But you know what? We all need to remember that all those past burns were exactly that: in the past. Each tea experience is different and we need to remember that we are the boss of our tea, that we are the one experiencing it, not the other way around.

So, let me finish my random philosophical tea tangent by saying that life is like drinking tea~

(And now, back to that Rhetoric draft! But this time, with my tea in hand!-uh, wait, no in my mouth? Tongue palate? Throat? Ah, well, you get the gist of it, eh?)

2 thoughts on “Life is Like Drinking Tea…”

  1. This is one of those things that’s funny because it’s true. Something that is supposed to soothe in fact creates anxiety. Drinking tea *is* just like life 🙂

Leave a Reply

