BOYFRIEND, WITCH: MV Reaction and Review

Boyfriend_1412172661_af_org

(Little Red Riding Hood concept? So…is Little Red Riding Hood a witch?)

Wow, it’s been a while, hasn’t it? Cause I mean, in college, who has time to do these MV reactions and reviews? But this weekend I got a bit more breathability, so I’m back! 🙂

A while back, my friend Vince introduced me to the group BOYFRIEND when he recommended me to review their song ‘OBSESSION’ (check out the review here). I was pleasantly surprised by the group: the have pleasant vocals and I really liked the rapper’s voices. The only thing that threw me off was the name of the group…like it’s a bit, uh, typical? Not as innovative? Ah well, their talent makes up for it so I’ll let it slide~

This concept is dark, similar to the OBSESSION concept but it looks more grimy/rough than the other one. Let’s see how this goes, then~

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVSQbRNpvo0

REACTION

BLOOD ?

Police sirens ? DID THE WITCH KILL SOMEONE DD :

It’s a show ? he’s a magician ?

What are they saying ?-

Is that English ?

I like the beat tho

Oh popping out from the curtains

Is like each member behind a pair of of curtians

GLOWING EYES THATS CREEPY

Oh an english paper

Tattoos ?

CALM DOWN

Is he a vampire or a wereworf ?

Your body goes boom bada boom ?

HE’S A VAMPIRE

OMG

WAIT THIS IS CALLED WITCH THO

IS THAT THE WITCH

Minoo’s rap!

Flashback ?

Is she being chased ?

Or does she turn them into vampires ?

No she’s friends with them ?

How to be a human being ?

Oh psycheeeee you didn’t see that

Wait is she like red hiding hood?

She turned him into it ?

RABID MEMBERS LOL

I’d run if i were you

She’s gonna beat them up ?

So she turned them into what they are ?

End of the show ?

And…she leaves their carcasses behind. Classy

REVIEW

CONCEPT/MV

…I’m a bit confused on the plot.

Two things I know for sure: they’re vampires and she’s a witch. But she didn’t know before or something? Because one member was reading the book “How to be a Human Being”

Screenshot 2014-10-12 14.47.37

but then hid the book from her when she came closer.

And how are they connected? According to the newspaper one guy was reading, they’re on the run?-

Screenshot 2014-10-12 14.47.05

So did she turn them into vampires or?-

I think the plot had potential, like the OBSESSION plot did, but it was too choppy to fully comprehend. It was interesting, though, how they combined the Red Riding Hood story with…WAIT. WAIT.

ARE THEY THE WOLVES IN THE RED RIDING HOOD STORY AND SO THEY TURNED THE FAIRYTALE UPSIDE DOWN SO RED RIDING HOOD IS HUNTING THEM DOWN?

OH MY GOODNESS.

And they did that with OBSESSION too! In that one, they used the Peter Pan story and the members were Captain Hook (I think). Aha, I sense a theme here. Clever, but if only they were better explained!-

SONG/DANCE

The song starts with police sirens, appropriately setting the scene for the dark concept. Throughout the entire song, there’s a heavy beat and a piano clinking in the back, adding an air of eerie-ness. But in general, I wasn’t mind blown by the song. I was more distracted by the plot…

One thing that was creative though, was how they used curtains throughout the dance. It matched well with the ‘show’ idea at the beginning of the music video. And I have never seen that used before, so good job for them~

CONCLUSION

Cool plot idea, though poorly explained. The song is decent, not extraordinary or poor. I *might* buy it later, but at this point I’m content with just listening to it on Youtube~

One thought on “BOYFRIEND, WITCH: MV Reaction and Review

  1. Pingback: BOYFRIEND “Bounce” MV Reaction and Review | Wings, Ashes, and Lights

Leave a Reply

