SPICA’s “GHOST” MV Reaction and Review

0

Spica is hands down my favorite girl group. They have amazing vocals, sass, and seem really authentic to me. I like how I can hear emotions when they sing and that they try different styles, excelling in all of them. It’s been a while since we last saw them all together in “I Did It“. They had a subunit thing without their leader, Boa, but I didn’t really like it as it leaned too heavily on the sexy side, which I thought was shortchanging the girls from their actual vocal talent.

And now they’re back with ‘Ghost’! It looks more solemn but the teaser showed a really nice piano undercurrent that created a lovely mood for the song: something anticipating but still hesitant. I have high hopes that the five ladies of Spica will once again blow me away with this new song.

Here’s the MV: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DikFQp6a7FM

REVIEW

Backstage?

Oh liking the piano beat soothing

Boaaaaaa!-

The lighting is very like honest?

I like that they’re showing backstage stuff and like

Imperfections

Don’t cry….

Beauty show?

Is he the guy?-

Yup…

HE’S CHEATING

WHAT

IS

THIS

NO YOU DESERVE BETTER

SLAPHIM

Wait the girl who’s in charge of the show is the girl he’s cheting with?!?!?!

Oh I like her soft rap

So raw…I feel ya girl..

KEY CHANGE

I FELT THAT KEY CHANGE

Success!

It’s him?-

Wait what

But she’s in pain tho

NO NONONONO

WAIT

WHAT

SO SPICA GIRL GETS THE GUY

BUT SHOW RUNNING GIRL DOESN’T

AND WE’RE SUPPOSED TO BE HAPPY?

WAS THAT SUPPOSED TO BE HER SMILING AT THE END?!

REVIEW

SONG

I love the song. The piano undercurrent thing that I mentioned before was really soothing and overall the instrumentation was excellently done. The girls once again sang really well. And I’m glad the line distribution was much more even than it was in “I Did It.” And Juhyun’s rap was very heartfelt. It’s the first time I heard it so…raw. Kudos to you~ The key change was perfectly timed as well and amped up the overall angst of the song. But now that I think of it, it’s interesting: the lyrics are about trying to get over someone and the topic is slightly sad but the instrumentation is almost…uplifting? Like the piano part is pushing, urging forward, perhaps being parallel about how the girl is trying to move on with life.

Which brings me to my next point…

The plot? WHAT JUST HAPPENED.

MUSIC VIDEO

So, what I got from that was there’s a fashion show of sorts but one girl is sad because her boyfriend is cheating on her? And coincidentally the person organizing the fashion show is who the boyfriend is cheating with (sorry if that’s confusing…). So main girl is crying, sad, but then at the end her boyfriend comes with a bouquet of flowers and yay, they live happily ever after.

But then, interwoven through this they also show bits of what happened with the fashion show manager girl and the boyfriend. They met at a coffee shop and I guess he was like it’s over but like wait, so was he dating TWO PEOPLE AT THE SAME TIME cause his caller ID for her had A HEART. And then, of course, at the end, he looks up from hugging main girl and sees her. But fashion show manager just walks past him with, wait, is that a slight smirk on her face? Or has she simply accepted that it was never meant to be?

OR PLOT TWIST DID SHE LIKE POISON HIS DRINK AND HE’S GONNA DIE. (cue SECRET’s song Poison)

I don’t know. I was very confused. It was like a weird roller coaster of feels because you saw the girl crying then finding out that her boyfriend was cheating on her but you also see fashion manager girl and her struggles and then the ending is like uh…yay? Kind of?

Either way, I was mad at the guy. What a jerk. She should have slapped him. No, both girls should have slapped him then skipped off together, bonded by mutual dislike for the guy. Yup X).

One thing I did like, though, was how they showed the fashion show backstage. It had the vibe of almost not being a music video that way. It felt real and honest, especially with the lighting (I don’t know if that made sense?).

CONCLUSION

I liked the song, but the music video made me confused and mad at the guy. In this case, I agree with Simon and Martina (aka EatYourKimchi) when they said that Kpop music videos should avoid plots that distract from the epicness of a song.

But don’t worry, one crappy plot won’t make me dislike Spica~ SPICA HWAITING!

Leave a Reply

