YAY CALCULUS! *in all seriousness

Photo on 2014-11-11 at 9.47 AM #2

I felt like I was drowning. For the first time, I understood what all those comics meant when there were pictures of long, convoluted formulas that all melded together to one massive unidentifiable blob of math. And it’s not like I can’t understand it either. I did really well in differential and integral calculus last year, but this year in multivariable cal, I’m lost. And it’s not because the material is hard; I get bits and pieces, but barely in time for the exam.

It’s because my professor is extremely disorganized and absentminded. Which is a fatal combination for a course as important and complex as multivariable calculus.

Go to the textbook then, Ashley! Isn’t that what you’re holding in the picture? Nope: it’s a textbook I borrowed from the engineering library because GUESS WHAT: A PROFESSOR WROTE THE TEXTBOOK. And he’s not any better than my lecture professor, so the textbook is just as confusing as the lectures are. Oh, the irony. 

Yesterday I called my dad and had a mini meltdown about calculus and he calmly suggested me to get out there myself to master the material. He told me to check out a book from the library and scour YouTube for a better teacher. He told me to wrestle with the material myself so that way it’ll stick better. And most importantly, he told me that I could do it.

I. CAN. DO. THIS.

And so, here I am on this lovely morning, with a calculus textbook in hard, super excited to FINALLY LEARN CALCULUS. It’s actually kind of funny how excited I am to learn this. I can do this, I can soooooo do this! I’ve been blessed with the ability to understand this, so I will do it. If it takes going to tutoring every night and asking a guy to walk me back (since it finishes at 9pm and it’s not the best idea for a girl to walk back alone that late), so be it. If it takes living in the math lab every day, so be it.

I

WILL

EXCEL IN THIS CLASS. Regardless the professor. Regardless the lectures.

1 thought on “YAY CALCULUS! *in all seriousness”

Leave a Reply

