Where the Rivers Meet

I now see where these rivers meet.

 

These great rivers

pounding, flowing,

indifferent to our confusion

pulsing on to their final destination.

 

And we, we have ridden them

stuck through their rapids

and vicious waters

with the promise

of seeing peace where the rivers meet.

 

And I’ve flown over the rivers

for a brief moment to see the convergence

and there it is;

peaceful and vibrant

as the rivers play together

and fuse to form their true,

pure essence

and it’s beautiful-

it is beautiful

 

-but my heart is not moved

I can admire the scene,

I can appreciate it,

but still…

I am not moved.

~ ~ ~

Ah, the joys of trying to find your passion. I’m currently enrolled in Biomedical Engineering but I’m not quite sure if this is where I’m meant to be. But at the same time, I’m too hesitant to call a verdict this early in the game.

I’m lucky, though, and I get the chance to work with a PhD student to make a prosthetic hand which is super cool. It literally combines biology, physics, chemistry, programming, and circuits. It’s like the epitome of the major and yet when we worked on it, don’t get me wrong it was cool but not to the point that I got a rush as we did research on it.

I’m not sure if this is because of some bias that I have or something but it is something still…

Leave a Reply

