BOYFRIEND “Bounce” MV Reaction and Review

It’s been quite a while since my last MV Reaction/Review post, eh? This is actually my first post for 2015, just to put things into perspective. *whistles* During my silence about Kpop, a loooooot of great music was released, like 4Minute’s “Crazy”, the resurrection of EXID’s “Up and Down”, Lovelyz’s “Hi~”, Jung Yonghwa’s album “One Fine Day” and Amber’s album “Beautiful”. (Hint hint shove shove y’alls should check out the songs listed above, yeah? :P). But let’s be real here, I can’t review all of the songs (though I’d love to) cause I’m have lots of other things to do and also it’s a bit too late to review the songs. I must admit, though, that my laziness has played into my procrastination. I could have reviewed Amber’s “Shake That Brass” (and in fact I wrote it in my agenda) but then life happened and it just didn’t happen…

I will try to be more on top of my to-do list from now on, though. This review was actually planned as well and as I finished my homework a bit earlier than expected, I decided to reward myself by writing this reaction/review~

Where did we last leave off BOYFRIEND then?- Their last comeback was in October with “Witch“.They continued their fairytale theme started from their Peter Pan-esque “Obsession“. Now with “Bounce” they take on the already trippy concept of Alice in Wonderland. Check out their teaser photos, I mean ooooh spooky~~

Boyfriend-Bounce-MV-teaser

Here’s the link as per usual, so here we go!~

MV REACTION

Monk-like humming

Wait lol that’s a girl what

I’m scared

She looks Chinese

Ooh I like the intro

RED EYES

I like the colour scheme

They’re all like floating

Nice drum beat

Why is there only one guy in a red coat

Oh switch to white

Nice use of the twins

Body roll

Like they’re playing poker

Come at me?- *it’s actually supposed to be come with me…LOL

MINWOO :DDDDD

I like the mood they’ve made with this

Geez they make Alice look scary, dangerous

Are they all mad hatters then?

She’s holding time?

IS THAT WHY THEY’RE ALL FREEZING?

KEY CHANGE!

What are they looking at?

WHAT DID SHE DO

She’s falling down the rabbit hole

Is this like their fantasy breaking

PINK PANTS YO

I love how’s she just like ‘sup

WHAT

RED EYE

WHAT

DID SHE LIKE LEAD THEM TO THEIR DEATH TO BE EATEN BY SOME HUGE RED EYED MONSTER

WHAT

WHAT WAS THAT RED EYE SUPPOSED TO BE

OR LIKE MAYBE IT’S A RED EYE BECAUSE HE DIDN’T GET ENOUGH SLEEP

WHAT

OR MAYBE THE RED EYE IS AN EYE OF A MEMBER AND THEY FOUND AN ALTERNATE VERSION OF THEMSELVES IN ANOTHER ROOM

IN OTHER WORDS

IT’S ALL A LIEEEEEEEEE

REVIEW

MUSIC

I really liked the intro and felt like it was very appropriate for the mood they were setting. It was like slightly mechanical and eerie, as if something whimsically menacing was drawing closer from a distance. Then the brass came in and actually, I was thought that although the song was good it didn’t match the hype that the introduction brought. I liked how in the verses the instrument making the soft booping sounds came back. The chorus is quite catchy and I liked how everyone sang in it, to make it seem fuller and truly like a team effort.

However, for me in general with BOYFRIEND songs I like the songs but I feel like they’re still missing something to get a winning song. I mean, the group has good singers and really creative concepts but still…the songs are missing something that I can’t accurately pinpoint. It’s really a shame…

MUSIC VIDEO

Can I just give a round of applause to the fact that the directors put the identical twins to use perfectly for the concept? I love how he put them in almost identical outfits and had them in the same shots, to add to the eeriness of the music video. In fact, if I didn’t know that there were twins I would have totally thought that it was some epic computer imaging but nope, this group is blessed with having identical twins.

The plot was a bit hard to follow as the shots were more focused on the members in the Wonderland atmosphere (which is why I freaked out at the end of my reaction). But now that I think about it a bit more, perhaps Alice was sent to draw the boys out from the Wonderland into a trap? Because at the beginning it was like maybe she got a mission or something from some creepy monastery? (which, doesn’t fully make sense because she wouldn’t be a monk, she’d be a nurse…)

Again, the brilliant potential for a plot but kind of scattered execution has happened in “Witch” and “Obsession” as well. I feel like the plot could have really been mined for something epic, but still at least we get a sense that a plot did exist.

HOLD UP: my friend has a new hypothesis. Alice’s mission is to trap the boys into the book, which is why she holds the book and the camera zooms into it. She then goes into the book with the watch, perhaps to show them a way out. They all together fall through the rabbit hole only for the boys to realize that they can never get out. They’re led to a room with many doors and when they open a door, all they see is a red eye.

Conclusion? She completely trolled them.

And now, for an English major’s perspective (AKA my roommate): Alice is kidnapped by a pack of handsome young men from another world. Though she seems slightly perturbed by it, it turns out that Alice was the one truly pulling the strings. She is both the Queen and Alice in Wonderland.

Conclusion? (And this is verbatim) “In other words, she’s trolling them.”

(Great minds think alike, eh?)

OVERALL CONCLUSION

Solid comeback BOYFRIEND but something is still missing for me. Brilliant concept, nice dancing, good song but I don’t think it’ll win any music show awards. Regardless, I’m still cheering for BOYFRIEND and waiting for the day they come up with the perfect combination of an epic concept with an equally epic song.

Now, to anticipate their next comeback, here’s a list of my guesses for their next theme:

-werewolves

-zombies

-unicorns

-flying bird-like things (phoenix?)

-mermaids

Until next time then BOYFRIEND, we’ll be waiting~

Leave a Reply

