RANT ON RACISM

Okay I get it. Racism is rampant. Race is race. Hoo-ha. But I guess I didn’t know how much it would bother me until it came into my home court, which is Korea. And boy oh boy, I get it folks. I’m mad. (*I’m also tired which further is accentuating my anger so prepare for a mad mad rant folks.)

Here’s what got this all started.

OKAY NOW

OH

FREAKING

KAY.

Maybe it’s because we’re Asian and oh we won’t get too offended cause we’re all so nice and demure and sweet and won’t speak up about it which maybe is why people took advantage of Chinese immigrants to America and made them work on railroads cause cheap labor and they wouldn’t fight back. (talk about a run-on sentence…)

No.

I’m sorry. This is racism and it seriously needs to stop.

I am sick and tired of stupid ignorant people just acting like they have the right to say things like this. Okay, so what someone speaks with an accent. Do you want to try speaking in Korean? Or, no, wait, you don’t see a need to speak any other language than your beautiful English right because that’s all you need right? RIGHT? 

*takes a deep breath*

Okay, sorry. I’m not trying to attack people are clump them all into one group because that’s not the truth. After all, we usually only hear about the negative extreme. So let me just clarify in saying that no, I’m not blaming all Caucasian people.

Rather, I’m pointing to everyone out there who thinks it’s funny to make fun of accents. Do you even know where those accents come from? Do you know the rich history and culture behind it? Do you know how hard to was for that person to learn to speak English? Do you want to try living in their shoes to learn a different language and then be thrown into it, only to be made fun of for all your hard work?

Please, I beg you, STOP AND THINK FOR ONCE.

ACCENTS POINT TO A LIFE. AND LIFE IS HARDSHIPS, STRUGGLES, AND ALL THAT JAZZ THAT YOU, YES, YOU TOO GO THROUGH.

SO JUST…STOP AND THINK. USE YOUR GOD GIVEN BRAIN, OKAY?!

I think I get it now. I was just talking to my friend the other day and she was saying that she was tired of hearing a guy constantly make Asian references and jokes to her. He even asked her if she knew how to use a knife since well, she was Asian and only used chopsticks, right? WRONG.

Okay, just people…stop it. Stop the racism. And I don’t just mean this with Asians, I mean it with everyone. Even if someone won’t say something about it or just continues to smile or brushes it off, it hurts. Granted, it might hurt more to others but it still affects us.

Honestly, racism is flat out stupid. It’s rooted from not understanding and a lack of wanting to understand. People are so rich. History and culture are so rich and we have absolutely no right to shove people into a tiny, preconceived notion. People are not meant to be chained to a box or some assumptions. We are so much more. You are so much more. So even if you don’t get someone or can’t understand someone through their weird accent, realize that there is a story behind that. Don’t you dare make fun of a person or just assign them to their weird accent. We as people are so much more than that and all of us deserve to be properly respected.

Over and out, readers. Sorry for the rant.

BONUS:

My friend recommended me to this and actually it fits well with my racism rant. Only it’s funnier, but still gets the point across. So here’s something to laugh about, while still making you think~

*AND ALSO LET’S APPRECIATE THAT THE ASIAN WAS BRENDA SONG FROM THE SUITE LIFE OMG IT’S BEEN TOO LONG*

Click here~

EXTRA BONUS:

Park Joon Hyung, a veteran Kpop singer from the early era just posted this:

Wow… I just heard of this news about TMZ and their unacceptable uneducated behaviour towards Exids members! When someone goes to another country and that person tries their very best to say that they are happy to be there in a foreign language… they should be welcomed…NOT mocked… This unacceptable behaviour by tmz not only degrades themselves and shows how shallow and ignorant one can be but also is like spitting on their own faces and the country that they represent… one should always think before speaking and at least reverse roles and think how they would feel if that role was reversed… I think a public apology is needed…

Well said, Joon. Well said. Even my roommate agrees. *stamp of approval*

Leave a Reply

