Word of 2016: Sensitive

I read a post on Facebook about a girl choosing a word of the year. This girl prayed over the word, went through a list, and then settled on the word ‘engaged’ (not in engaged for marriage, but rather, engaged in her environment and the people around her). This got me thinking, as already for me, a word had been tugging at the edges of my mind:

sensitive

which is defined as “quick to detect or respond to slight changes, signals, or influences“. And, fun fact, there’s even a song about it here.

Sorry, that note about the song was kind of random…anyhow. Back to sensitive.

Let me start by saying that it’s kind of funny that this word is resonating with me this year because I’m usually not sensitive. Sensitive isn’t really an encouraging word, eh? Compared to words like confident, powerful, and successful, it doesn’t look as attractive. But still, sensitive rings with me, and the more I think about it, the more I think that it’s not just something that feels well with me, but rather a word that God wants me to be aware of this year.

I think that this year, I need to be sensitive, in the way of sensitive in taking in my surroundings. How is _____ person acting today? Is this usual? How can it reflect on how their other relationships may or may not be? And above this all, how does this reflect on how God is moving in their life?

I realize that I haven’t talked about God and my faith a lot in my blog, but I think it was a bad step. I promised myself that this blog would be about my raw mind, and quite frankly, God is a part of my raw mind. He made me, He gave me the ability to write, He gave me the ability to think, He has blessed me.

And after thinking over winter break and attending a Christian conference, I’ve been convicted of not letting God rule over my life like He deserves to. What am I to tell God that He can’t?

So, back to my word of the year ‘sensitive’; besides being sensitive about the people around me, I also want to be sensitive in how God is moving. God is alive and He is moving in the hearts of the people around me and I want to be a part of what He’s doing. I want to be aware of His presence as He tugs on people’s hearts and pours His love and grace onto them. I want to participate in His kingdom, I want to be on His team.

This all went back to God in the end, I guess, didn’t it? But I believe that it should go back to Him; it only makes sense.

///

This is a different blog post than my usual ones, but from here on out, I’m going to open my mind a bit further with my readers and talk about my faith. This is, after all, supposed to be my raw mind.

This being said, not every post will be about my faith. But, every post will be in the framework of my faith. My faith frames how I think and what I believe, so this is an announcement that to understand where I’m coming from, look to what I believe. I will still use this blog as a medium to talk about anything that sparks my interest, from K-Pop to topics in my International Studies classes, to things that irk me. To filter through my content, go through my handy dandy categories on the top of my blog if you want to read certain material.

Thanks for reading and God bless~

ajc

1 thought on “Word of 2016: Sensitive”

  1. That’s a good realization 😊 Where we are and what we have are all purposed by God for a reason. To worship Him, to be salt and light, to reach out to the lost, to share His truth and make Him known.. and I guess writing or blogging is one way to do that! God is with you on your journey. May He bless the work of your hands! ☺

Leave a Reply

