Modesty modesty modesty…

Modesty.

It’s a buzz word for Christians. Don’t be a stumbling block to the men around you. Don’t prevent them from getting to God. Don’t…don’t…don’t…

This is what I heard for a long time. It’s drilled into my head, taken root and guided my decisions in what I wear. This being said, it doesn’t mean that I never wore a dress or never put in effort into my appearance. It just means that I didn’t want to wear something that would draw attention to me because in the midst of all this talk about modesty modesty modesty

I grew to fear my body.

And I didn’t realize this until today.

I’ve been looking for a formal dress for a while and I found a nice one with pockets (WIN) and a nice form. It was super comfortable and twirly but it was in bright red. I didn’t want to leave the dressing room. I felt gross that it was in bright red. I felt like that would draw way too much attention onto me and that because of that then people would just look at my body and I didn’t want to cause problems or be objectified…

In short, I felt guilty and awful as I wore the dress (in the dressing room!).

I had to deal with this. So, I Googled ‘modesty’ and came across this brilliant article that brought me to tears.

In the heat of making sure that I wouldn’t trip up the men around me, I never stopped to ask why I, the woman, had to bear all the responsibility on my own. I just thought that naturally the blame fell onto me, the person who caused the problem in the first place.

But it’s not just me. The man is also responsible to his thoughts. Blaming just women is completely and utterly invalid. 

And above all…

My body is not shameful.

My body is not shameful.

MY BODY IS NOT SHAMEFUL. 

My body is a creation of God. And God, when He looked down at the female, did He say “oh, you better cover up because you’re going to cause problems?”

No.

He proclaimed it good.

“But our bodies are not something to be overcome; they are not dirty or shameful or inherently tempting. They are a beautiful part of what it means to be created in the image of God.” (from the article)

And this is such a beautiful relief to me. I mean, I know I know we’re all created in the image of God etc but right now, this became something personal and real.

I am created in the image of God.

I am beautiful in His eyes.

Therefore, I am free. This being said, I won’t all of a sudden wear drastically different clothing. My freedom means not thinking of my body as a danger to society. If I want to wear a dress, I will. And I still have my standards in what I feel comfortable in-you won’t see me wearing something showing cleavage because personally, I don’t feel comfortable wearing that. I will still dress modestly, but now in the confidence that my body isn’t a threat.

My body is beautiful.

2 thoughts on “Modesty modesty modesty…

  1. The concept of modesty definitely lost control.

    There are times for modesty. Cleavage or kickin’ abs have no place in a funeral, but that’s for the same reason you wouldn’t tell jokes or shout in a funeral.

    If ‘modesty’ means ‘not grabbing attention’, we should first ask ourselves – from what are we drawing attention from? I mean, in a funeral it’s important to respect the dead and the mourning. But a party is a place you come to meet people, socialize and have fun. You’re meant to grab attention there.

Leave a Reply

