All Things for Good

I’ve been meeting with professors within the past week and it’s been an incredible time to just pause and realize how much I’ve grown since freshman year and how things have unfolded so beautifully to now. All I can really say is that God is faithful cause I could have never organized these things on my own.

Last Thursday I met up with my chemistry professor from freshman year. Yes, you read that correctly. Yes, I’m still not the biggest fan of chemistry, but I’m a big fan of this professor. In fact, I wrote a letter to him that I actually got to give to him in person during the Honors Society induction ceremony (he was the key note speaker; not even surprised). He was so touched by the letter that he treated me to coffee and he told me about his journey to become a chemistry professor and let me just say, passion is unbound. His excitement was contagious and his voice was incredulous as he described how happy coincidences lined up to lead him to where he is now.

After that meeting, I met with my internship supervisor and I honestly have to still pinch myself that I got the position. I have an incredible opportunity to be an intern for the International Writing Program and it happened completely out of my control; I met a friend from the Honors Writing Fellows class who happened to be the intern at IWP last summer.

And with that friend, (sup Claire) I also got involved with the Translate Iowa Project where I was featured in the first print edition as a writer and a translator. Two Sundays ago we had our book launch and dear friends, it was so wonderful. And even before then, I had a very surreal opportunity to read my poetry in the Voxman Recital Hall before an audience and on the stage with three international poets and the renowned LARK quartet.

And then I got into the Poetry Undergraduate Workshop which is just like, what I did that? And before that, my article about a local Korean pastry store was published in a local magazine and just, oh my goodness friends, do you see how easily overwhelmed it is to trace things back?

Even now, as I type these things, I feel a huge sense that I can’t take credit for how things lined up. I came into Iowa as a biomedical engineer shot thought that she’d finish with that degree and not change her major and have life lined up neatly. But now, through many serendipities, I find myself in a position where I can see God move more to fill in unknowns and reveal what I should be doing. My rigid mentality has loosened a lot and I’m learning to be comfortable with not knowing and being proactive. But even in my not knowing, there’s been peace. It’s amazing that even in my not knowing, which I thought my professors and instructors would have scolded, they’ve assured me that I’m doing the right thing and that I’ll eventually find my way, because I have this passion, because of the life I’ve lived to now.

“And we know that in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His will.” (Romans 8:28)

I don’t know everything, but I know that it’ll all work out for good.

~ajc

 

Leave a Reply

